Ohio Life

Best of Ohio Readers’ Ballot 2015

We asked our readers and website visitors to vote for their favorites throughout the state.

Our full list of Best of Ohio editors' picks can be found here.

Recreation


Bike Trail: Ohio & Erie Canal Towpath Trail, ohioanderiecanalway.com

Hiking Trail:
Old Man’s Cave Trail, 19852 St. Rte. 664 S., Logan 43138, parks.ohiodnr.gov/hockinghills

State Park: Hocking Hills State Park, parks.ohiodnr.gov/hockinghills

Winter Destination:
Snow Trails, 3100 Possum Run Rd., Mansfield 44903, snowtrails.com

Indoor Waterpark: Kalahari Resorts, 7000 Kalahari Dr., Sandusky 44870, kalahariresorts.com

Bird-watching Spot: Magee Marsh Wildlife Area, 13229 W. St. Rte. 2, Oak Harbor 43449, mageemarsh.org

Place to See Fall Leaves: Hocking Hills, explorehockinghills.com


Attractions & Lodging

Ohio Casino: Horseshoe Cleveland, 100 Public Square, Cleveland 44113, horseshoecleveland.com

College Town: Athens, athensohio.com

Romantic Destination:
Hocking Hills, explorehockinghills.com

In-State Long Weekend Destination:
Columbus, experiencecolumbus.com

Destination Spa: Harmony Farm, 5578 S. St. Rte. 202, Tipp City 45371, harmonyfarmonline.com

Bed & Breakfast/Inn:
Wishmaker House Bed & Breakfast, 116 Main St., Bellville 44813, wishmakerhouse.com

Historical Site: Fort Meigs, 29100 W. River Rd., Perrysburg 43551, fortmeigs.org

Botanical Garden:
Cleveland Botanical Garden, 11030 East Blvd., Columbus 44106, cbgarden.org

Quirky Tourist Attraction:
A Christmas Story House & Museum, 3159 W. 11th St., Cleveland 44109, achristmasstoryhouse.com

Zoo:
Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, 4850 Powell Rd., Powell 43065, columbuszoo.org


Fairs, Parades & Festivals

Annual Parade: Hometown Holiday Horse Parade, Greenville 45331, mainstreetgreenville.org

County Fair:
The Great Darke County Fair, 800 Sweitzer St., Greenville 45331, darkecountyfair.com

Art Fair/Festival:
Columbus Arts Festival, Downtown Riverfront, Columbus 43215, columbusartsfestival.org

Fall Festival:
Circleville Pumpkin Show, 159 E. Franklin St., Circleville 43113, pumpkinshow.com

Summer Festival:
Troy Strawberry Festival, Downtown Troy 45373, gostrawberries.com

Wine Festival: Vintage Ohio Wine Festival, 8800 Euclid Chardon Rd., Kirtland 44094, visitvintageohio.com

Beer Festival: Oktoberfest Zinzinnati, Vine and Main streets, Cincinnati 45202, oktoberfestzinzinnati.com


Food & Drink

Fine Dining: Michael Anthony’s at the Inn at Versailles, 21 W. Main St., Versailles 45380, innatversailles.com

Casual Dining:
Swig, 219 Louisiana Ave., Perrysburg 43551, swigrestaurant.com

Ice Cream:
Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams, Multiple locations, jenis.com

Ohio Craft Beer:
Great Lakes Brewing Co., 2516 Market Ave., Cleveland 44113, greatlakesbrewing.com

Winery: 
Ferrante Winery, 5585 N. River Rd. W., Geneva 44041, ferrantewinery.com

Coffee Shop/Roaster:
Boston Stoker, 8321 N. Main St., Clayton 45415, bostonstoker.com

Amish Food: 
Der Dutchman Restaurant & Bakery, 4967 Walnut St., Walnut Creek 44687, dhgroup.com

Burger:
The Thurman Cafe , 183 Thurman Ave., Columbus 43206, thethurmancafe.com

Brunch:
Basil’s on Market, 18 N. Market St., Troy 45373, basilsonmarket.com

Farmers Market:
2nd Street Market, 600 E. Second St., Dayton 45402, metroparks.org/localfood

Ohio-Made Candy:
Esther Price, 1709 Wayne Ave., Dayton 45410, estherprice.com

Food Truck:
Mikey’s Late Night Slice, Columbus, latenightslice.com

Cheesemaker:
Heini’s Cheese Chalet, 6005 County Hwy. 77, Millersburg 44654, heinis.com


Arts & Culture

Children’s Museum:
COSI, 333 W. Broad St., Columbus 43215, cosi.org

History Museum:
Garst Museum, 205 N. Broadway St., Greenville 45331, garstmuseum.org

Art Museum:
Cleveland Museum of Art, 11150 East Blvd., Cleveland 44106, clevelandart.org

Orchestra:
The Cleveland Orchestra, 11001 Euclid Ave., Cleveland 44106, clevelandorchestra.com

Historic Theater:
Ohio Theatre, 39 E. State St., Columbus 43215

Community Theater Group:
Weathervane Playhouse, 100 Price Rd., Newark 43055, weathervaneplayhouse.org

Outdoor Concert Series:
Blossom Music Festival, 1145 W. Steels Corners Rd., Cuyahoga Falls 44223, clevelandorchestra.com


Shopping

Antique Shop:
Grandview Mercantile, 873 N. High St., Columbus 43215, grandviewmercantile.com

Shopping Center:
Easton Town Center, 160 Easton Town Center, Columbus 43219, eastontowncenter.com

Flea Market:
Rogers Community Auction, 45625 Old State Route 154, Rogers 44455, rogersohio.com
 
Independent Boutique:
Sadie Grace, 530 S. Broadway St., Greenville 45331, sadiegraceinc.com

Toy Store: Cairns Toys, 31 E. Main St., Tipp City 45371, cairnstoys.com

See More Articles on:

Best of Ohio