2014 Best of Ohio Readers' Ballot

We asked our readers and website visitors to vote for their favorites throughout the state in 50 categories.

Looking for our Best of Ohio 2014 Editors' Picks? You can see them here.


Amish Food: Der Dutchman Restaurant & Bakery, 4967 Walnut St., Walnut Creek 44687, dhgroup.com

: Heini’s Cheese Chalet, 6005 County Rd. 77, Millersburg 44654, heinis.com

Fine Dining: Chez Francois, 555 Main St., Vermilion 44089, chezfrancois.com

Casual Dining:
Grinders Above & Beyond, various northeast Ohio locations, grinders.net

Ice Cream:
Graeter’s, 2145 Reading Rd., Cincinnati 45202, graeters.com

Great Lakes Brewing Co., 2516 Market Ave., Cleveland 44113, greatlakesbrewing.com

Coffee Shop:
Grounds for Thought, 174 S. Main St., Bowling Green 43402, groundsforthought.com

The Thurman Café, 183 Thurman Ave., Columbus 43206, thethurmancafe.com

Sunday Brunch:
The Feve, 30 S. Main St., Oberlin 44074, thefeve.com

Farmers Market:
2nd Street Market, 600 E. 2nd St., Dayton 45402, metroparks.org/parks/secondstreetmarket

Celebrity Chef:
Michael Symon, lolabistro.com

Winery: Gervasi Vineyard, 1700 55th St. N.E., Canton 44721, gervasivineyard.com

Ohio-made Candy:
Esther Price Candies, 1709 Wayne Ave., Dayton 45410, estherprice.com

Arts & Culture

History Museum: Cleveland Museum of Natural History, 1 Wade Oval Dr., Cleveland 44106, cmnh.org

Children’s Museum:
COSI, 333 W. Broad St., Columbus 43215, cosi.org

Art Museum:
Cleveland Museum of Art, 11150 East Blvd., Cleveland 44106, clevelandart.org

Orchestra: Cleveland Orchestra, 11001 Euclid Ave., Cleveland 44106, clevelandorchestra.com

Ohio Theatre, 39 E. State St., Columbus 43215, capa.com

Bookstore: The Book Loft, 631 S. 3rd St., Columbus 43206, bookloft.com

Outdoor Concert Series:
Blossom Music Festival, 1145 W. Steels Corners Rd., Cuyahoga Falls 44223, clevelandorchestra.com


Local Boutique: Sadie Grace, 530 S. Broadway St., Greenville 45331, sadiegraceinc.com

Antique Shop: Jeffrey’s Antique Gallery, 11326 County Rd. 99, Findlay 45840, jeffreysantique.com

Shopping Center: Easton Town Center, 160 Easton Town Center, Columbus 43219, eastontowncenter.com

Flea Market: Hartville Flea Market, 1289 Edison St. N.W., Hartville 44632, hartvillemarketplace.com

Toy Store:
Cairns Toys, 31 E. Main St., Tipp City 45371, cairnstoys.com

Lodging & Attractions

Attraction: Cedar Point, 1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky 44870, cedarpoint.com

College Town: Athens, athensohio.com

Romantic Getaway:
Hocking Hills, explorehockinghills.com

Day Trip: Amish Country/Holmes County, visitamishcountry.com

In-State Long Weekend Destination:
Hocking Hills, explorehockinghills.com

Ohio Casino: Hollywood Casino, 968 Miami St., Toledo 43605, hollywoodcasinotoledo.com

View from a Hotel Room: Hotel Lakeside at Lakeside Chautauqua, 150 Maple Ave., Lakeside Marblehead 43440, lakesideohio.com

Bed and Breakfast/Inn:
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
, 21190 St. Rte. 374, Logan 43138, innatcedarfalls.com

Historical Site:
McKinley Monument, 800 McKinley Monument Dr. N.W., Canton 44708, mckinleymuseum.org

Spa: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, 7000 Kalahari Dr., Sandusky 44870, kalahariresorts.com

State Park: Hocking Hills State Park, parks.ohiodnr.gov/hockinghills

Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, 4850 Powell Rd., Powell 43065, colszoo.org

Botanical Garden: Cleveland Botanical Garden, 1030 East Blvd., Cleveland 44106, cbgarden.org


Picnic Spot: Marblehead Lighthouse State Park, 110 Lighthouse Dr., Marblehead 43440, parks.ohiodnr.gov/marbleheadlighthouse

Water park (indoor): Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, 7000 Kalahari Dr., Sandusky 44870, kalahariresorts.com

Zipline: Hocking Hills Canopy Tours, 10714 Jackson St., Rockbridge 43149, hockinghillscanopytours.com

Bike Trail: Little Miami Scenic Trail
, 75 miles between Newtown and Springfield, miamivalleytrails.org

Hiking Trail: Old Man’s Cave Trail, 19852 St. Rte. 664 S., Logan 43138, explorehockinghills.com

Bird-Watching Spot: Magee Marsh Wildlife Area, 13229 West St. Rte. 2, Oak Harbor 43449, dnr.state.ohio.us

Place to Go Sledding:
Virginia Kendall Hills, (Cuyahoga Valley National Park), Pine Hollow Trailhead, 5465 Quick Rd., Peninsula 44264, nps.gov/cuva

Fishing Spot: Caesar Creek Lake
, 8570 E. St. Rte. 73, Waynesville 45068, parks.ohiodnr.gov/caesarcreek

Place to See Fall Leaves: Hocking Hills, explorehockinghills.com


Best Festival:
Pro Football Hall of Fame Festival, 2121 George Halas Dr. N.W., Canton 44708, profootballhof.com

Art Fair: Black Swamp Arts Festival, Main Street, Bowling Green 43402, blackswamparts.org

Fourth of July Celebration: Red, White & Boom, Downtown Columbus, redwhiteandboom.org